They’re a cute, sweet and squishy candy… but the way that gummy bears are made is nothing short of horrifying. It’s not all sugar and food coloring, unfortunately. How do gummy candies get their rubbery consistency? It turns out it’s a lot of not-so-sweet things on the ingredient list. While most people are aware that gelatin is involved, actually seeing gummy bears being made might just change your mind about the candy.
Belgian filmmaker Alina Kneepkens created the video that shows all of the gory details, in reverse, so it starts with someone eating a piece of candy and ends in a rather nauseating display.
Bon Appetit notes that gelatin is “perfect for adding a bit of semi-solid jiggle to things that would otherwise be runny liquids.”
Kneepkens explained how she created the video, titled ‘Gelatine,’ noting: “I got the assignment to direct some reversed audiovisual stories showing the production of some of our food. I saw quite a few slaughter houses and examples of both industrial and artisan food production. A true eye opener.”
Kneepkens added: “Just by showing a series of reversed images it reveals a detailed and truthful story on daily foods and its origin.”
She’s also produced other reverse style videos about sugar, black pudding, lamb burgers, pastries, and mozzarella.
While the video is nauseating, gelatin is not unhealthy, with Medical News Today explaining: “The amino acids found in gelatin are also usually found in the bones and organs of certain animals. Since most people do not eat those parts of the animal, adding gelatin to a varied and nutritious diet may be beneficial.”
In response to the video, a lively debate kicked off on social media. One person argued: “As long as animals aren’t being killed solely for their bones, isn’t it kind of a good thing that we found a use for the leftover animal parts after we’ve killed them for their meat? If you’re vegan I get the aversion to gummy products but if you eat meat it seems like we might as well use all parts of the animal instead of letting them go to waste.”
One commenter responded to this argument, noting: “Everyone saying ‘oh it’s great we aren’t putting the animal to waste!’ but the reality is that animals aren’t ‘used to their full potential.’ They are slaughtered SOLELY for the use of gelatine. Or they are slaughtered SOLELY for the use of meat. Or they’re slaughtered solely for their fur or their skin. Get your head out of your arse.”
Another person simply shared: “It’s good to be a vegetarian.” Others voiced how this changed their opinion about a once favorite candy, as one person noted: “I love gummie bears, I guess I will never eat another one of them. BLEH.”
Still another commenter joked: “No wonder they are so good. They kind of have bacon in them.”
Anyone who still wants to nibble on gummy bears but finds the video completely unappealing, take note. There are vegan gummy candies that contain agar, a gelatin substitute that comes from algae.